Welcome to the new OALA website! Please click here to read the FAQ
Bank of Canada Head Office Renewal, DTAH

OALA Honours and Awards

The OALA Honours and Awards are the highest recognition the Association can bestow on its members and the general public. Each OALA member plays an important part in the integrity and success of the program by identifying and nominating deserving candidates for the various awards

Each year, OALA members are invited to nominate deserving fellow members and others for awards and honours, to be presented at the annual OALA Awards Ceremony. There are several awards to be considered, including:

OALA Pinnacle Award for Landscape Architectural Excellence

This award acknowledges excellence by an OALA member and their exemplary overall body of professional work and accomplishments. The award promotes awareness of landscape architectural works and achievements among landscape architects, allied professionals, clients and the public.

To be considered, the nominee must be a Full Member of the OALA practicing in Ontario, in Canada and/or around the world.

OALA Emeritus Member

Emeritus candidates are retired members that have made significant contributions to the profession and the Association during their career. Candidates for Emeritus Membership must currently hold the status of ‘Retired Member.’

OALA President's Award

This award is given in recognition of the contributions of an OALA Full member who supports and advances initiatives and actions of the Association and promotes the profession of landscape architecture in the province of Ontario.

OALA Public Practice Award

This award acknowledges the outstanding leadership of a member of the profession in public service who promotes and enhances landscape architecture by working for improved understanding and appreciation of the work of landscape architects in both public and private practice. The award may be given to an individual in recognition of a specific project, or for a body of work or for exemplary leadership or advocacy.

This award will be given to an individual Full Member of the OALA working in public practice.

The David Erb Memorial Award

This prestigious award is named for an outstanding volunteer of the OALA, David Erb. His volunteer services to the Association furthered the goals of the OALA and set a truly high standard for his exemplary work. This award is the best way to acknowledge an outstanding OALA member whose volunteer contributions over several years have made a real difference to the association and its members.

This award recognizes a Full Member of the OALA who has shown outstanding volunteerism over the years and contributed to furthering the goals and strategic plan of the OALA while making a real difference to the association and its members.

The Jack Copeland Award for OALA Associate Leadership and Contribution

This award recognizes the outstanding leadership, and contribution of an associate member for going above and beyond to assist fellow associates.

The nominee must be, or have held, an Associate membership in the OALA within the current calendar year.

The Carl Borgstrom Award for Service to the Environment

The award recognizes an OALA member who practices in an environmentally, socially, culturally and economically sensitive and sustainable manner. Ecologically sound and sustainable design does not preclude aesthetically beautiful work, nor vice versa, and this award is intended to recognize such efforts.

The nominee must be a Full Member of the OALA, or a landscape architectural group, team or agency recognized by the OALA.

OALA Award for Community Service to the Environment

This public outreach award recognizes and encourages special or unusual contributions for culturally sensitive and inclusive, sustainable design solutions leading to the improvement of environmental health, community livability and human interaction in the environment. The award may also recognize work that contributes to addressing climate change and supports nature-based solutions.

The award is to be given to a volunteer or a not-for-profit group, organization or agency. The award recognizes community contributions of those beyond the profession of landscape architecture.

OALA Research & Innovation Award

This award recognizes scholarly activities and/or the development of innovative practices and the publication and dissemination of this knowledge for the betterment of the profession and the greater good. This may include: academic papers, research, publications, books, e-applications or public presentations, which contribute to the knowledge base that furthers the advancement of the art, science and practice of landscape architecture.

The nominee may be a member of the OALA in any category of membership, or a non-member, whose research has made a significant contribution to the knowledge base that furthers the advancement of the profession of landscape architecture.

OALA Honourary Member

This award recognizes individuals, such as those from the general public, a public figure, a member of allied profession, a member of an organization having similar goals and mission and who is not a Member of the OALA.

The nominee should have performed notable service in advancing the profession of landscape architecture or the course of landscape architecture in Ontario.

All OALA members who are nominated must be in good standing with the OALA to receive the award. Nominees’ membership status will be confirmed with the OALA Registrar prior to recommendation to Council.

To view past winners of all OALA Awards, please see the OALA Awards Archive.